Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#13 2009-05-10 04:10:02

Gocom
Plugin Author
From: Helsinki, Finland
Registered: 2006-07-14
Posts: 4,533
Website

Re: rah_external_output

the_ghost wrote:

New features request…

Sorry, but…

  1. No.
  2. No. Tab. Is. Link.
  3. Not going to happen, as the scripts are scripts. Usually including dynamic stuff. The files would anyway need to be saved as PHP files, that just happens to kill the idea. If you need an static file on your server, best practice is just to create it, or is it.

FireFusion wrote:

Great this is very useful.

Am using it to output my iCal feed and slideshow XML (rather then using up more sections).

Nice. And great real life usage example too ;)

Last edited by Gocom (2009-05-10 04:23:42)

Offline

#14 2009-05-10 06:50:57

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 8,683
Website GitHub Twitter

Re: rah_external_output

Hi Jukka,
You’ve got mail:)


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | State Machines | NeMe @ github
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

Offline

#15 2009-05-10 07:25:39

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 8,683
Website GitHub Twitter

Re: rah_external_output

mrdale wrote:

Sorry to be dense… but I’m not sure I understand what this plugin does… is it like outputting a form? Could you give a more detailed usage scenario?

Hi Dale,

Maybe the way to think about this plugin (for me anyway) is that it will help with the integration of a txp install with other installs you my have.

ie. Add the tags you need in the rah external output which in it turn generates a url which can be used in another site/install. In my case, I am maintaining 2 sites using 3 txp installs and a punBB forum. I am planning to create templates which can be used in all 4 places by simply adding <?php include($DOCUMENT_ROOT . "http://my-txp-site.tld/?rah_external_output=template1"); ?>

Currently I’m using the above by wasting sections and creating unnecessary clutter in txp.

What I would like to hear is an example on how other content types could be incorporated.


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | State Machines | NeMe @ github
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

Offline

#16 2009-05-10 08:05:15

Gocom
Plugin Author
From: Helsinki, Finland
Registered: 2006-07-14
Posts: 4,533
Website

Re: rah_external_output

A new version, 0.3, released. Changelog:

  • Fixed error caused by non-set $pretext.
  • Set $pretext indexes to empty: we are not on page template.

More info and downloads

colak wrote:

What I would like to hear is an example on how other content types could be incorporated.

Content-type is a content type. Mime. Media type. Thing that allows your code to generate different kind of files for different situations. For example text/xml is content type for xml file and so on…

The Arrange content-types interface is used to create a predefined list of content-types, to help the author to set them for the snippets. By creating the list of content-types, the content-type field in the snippet creation page will turn into a select field.

By default, if you don’t create or set content types to snippets, it defaults to text/html with utf-8 encoding (the default that txp sets).

Last edited by Gocom (2009-05-10 08:17:55)

Offline

#17 2009-05-10 08:38:57

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 8,683
Website GitHub Twitter

Re: rah_external_output

Your latest fix did it! I really think that this plugin should be part of the core as it might soon become an indispensable addition to many installs.


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | State Machines | NeMe @ github
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

Offline

#18 2009-05-12 05:44:04

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 8,683
Website GitHub Twitter

Re: rah_external_output

Does anybody know how to exclude the external output from slimstat using wet’s plugin

I added http:\/\/www.domain.tld\/\?rah_external_output=my-output but the hits still show. Am I missing something?

>Edit: Maybe I should have posted this in wet’s thread.

Last edited by colak (2009-05-12 05:52:09)


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | State Machines | NeMe @ github
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

Offline

#19 2009-05-12 06:52:47

Gocom
Plugin Author
From: Helsinki, Finland
Registered: 2006-07-14
Posts: 4,533
Website

Re: rah_external_output

colak wrote:

I added http:\/\/www.domain.tld\/\?=my-output but the hits still show. Am I missing something?

Just missusing regular expressions. Examples:

  • |rah_external_ouput|
  • |\?rah_external_output|
  • |^\/\?rah_external_output=|

[…]

Last edited by Gocom (2009-05-12 06:53:34)

Offline

#20 2009-05-12 07:40:30

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 8,683
Website GitHub Twitter

Re: rah_external_output

thanks Jukka. your examples worked just fine.


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | State Machines | NeMe @ github
I do my best editing after I click on the submit button.

Offline

#21 2009-05-19 17:56:25

molly
Member
From: Virginia
Registered: 2004-08-15
Posts: 44
Website

Re: rah_external_output

FireFusion wrote:

Great this is very useful.
Am using it to output my iCal feed and slideshow XML (rather then using up more sections).

FireFusion, I would love to know more about this if you have the time. I am trying to output content from a Google calendar into this page: www.beerrun.com/test. Used an rss feed program, but that only outputs events that already happened, not future events.

Offline

#22 2009-06-08 05:19:02

Gocom
Plugin Author
From: Helsinki, Finland
Registered: 2006-07-14
Posts: 4,533
Website

Re: rah_external_output

A new version 0.4 of rah_external_output released. Update comes with a bug fix. Changelog:

  • Fixed forgotten insert query escaping.

Change is as big as one word, doSlash. Somehow code missed it. I strongly recommend updating before using saving any output with the plugin’s editor.

More info and downloads

Offline

#23 2009-07-05 17:48:32

FireFusion
Member
Registered: 2005-05-10
Posts: 698

Re: rah_external_output

Hi Gocom,

I can’t get this working with adi_gps no matter where i put it in the load order. Am trying to assign a category for my slideshow through get variable.

<txp:smd_gallery category='<txp:adi_gps name="image_cat" />'  limit="9999" sort="date">
{grouptagstart}
<image source="{id}{ext}" thumbnail="{id}t{ext}" title="{name}" description="{caption}" link="{alt}" />
{grouptagend}
</txp:smd_gallery>

	</contents>
</album>

Offline

#24 2009-07-05 17:51:23

FireFusion
Member
Registered: 2005-05-10
Posts: 698

Re: rah_external_output

molly wrote:

FireFusion wrote:

Great this is very useful.
Am using it to output my iCal feed and slideshow XML (rather then using up more sections).

FireFusion, I would love to know more about this if you have the time. I am trying to output content from a Google calendar into this page: www.beerrun.com/test. Used an rss feed program, but that only outputs events that already happened, not future events.

I use this plus smd_calendar

BEGIN:VCALENDAR
VERSION:2.0
X-WR-CALNAME:<txp:site_name /> Calendar
PRODID:-//Apple Computer, Inc//iCal 1.5//EN
METHOD:PUBLISH
X-WR-TIMEZONE:Europe/London
<txp:smd_article_event time="future" limit="1000" section="courses" stepfield="custom_1" skipfield="custom_2" extrafield="custom_3">

BEGIN:VEVENT
DTSTART:<txp:posted format="%Y%m%dT%H%M%S" />
DTEND:<txp:posted format="%Y%m%d" /><txp:expires format="T%H%M%S" />
SUMMARY:<txp:title />

END:VEVENT
</txp:smd_article_event>
END:VCALENDAR

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB