Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#13 2009-01-26 15:54:53

THE BLUE DRAGON
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2007-11-16
Posts: 600
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

thanks for the release!

But I have a problem
the Thumbnail option doesn’t seem to work good
I’m trying to crop on 314×140
and I get some other sizes instead of 314×140
only the “Restrict 1:1 Aspect Ratio [square]” works & perfectly!
but if it’s not a square, and it’s a rectangle so it’s not working :/

Offline

#14 2009-01-26 15:58:52

masa
Member
From: Asturias, Spain
Registered: 2005-11-25
Posts: 1,091

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

Thank you Eric!

This is brilliant!
Compact and straightforward interface and it just works. That was so much needed.

Cheers Martin

Offline

#15 2009-01-26 16:01:19

TheEric
Plugin Author
From: Wyoming
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 566

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

That is the intended behaviour. If you resize without the restrict option checked, it will resize the thumbnail to the longest side. If it didn’t do it this way, then the thumbnail would be distorted. (e.g., images would be stretched/squished)

Example: I have a crop area that is set for 100 × 100, and I create a crop area that is 150 × 250, the thumbnail will be resized to 60px × 100px. The 250px height will be resized down to 100px, and the 150 will be resized down to 60px, a ratio of 3:5

Offline

#16 2009-01-26 16:02:40

kemie
Plugin Author
From: mexico<-->sweden
Registered: 2004-05-20
Posts: 495
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

Thank you for your work!


~~~~~~~~~~~~~| monolinea.com | pixilate.com | istockphoto.com/kemie |~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Offline

#17 2009-01-26 17:15:30

FireFusion
Member
Registered: 2005-05-10
Posts: 698

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

I get the following error when trying to create a thumbnail if one already exists…

<pre>A problem occured while loading the plugin: <b>ebl-image-edit</b> -> <b>Warning: imagejpeg() [<a href='function.imagejpeg'>function.imagejpeg</a>]: Unable to open '/home/kweb/public_html/template/images/6t.jpg' for writing: Permission denied on line 564</b></pre>ERROR

Offline

#18 2009-01-26 17:24:37

FireFusion
Member
Registered: 2005-05-10
Posts: 698

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

deleting the thumbnail and trying to make a new one did nothing :P

Offline

#19 2009-01-26 17:39:03

RedFox
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-03-25
Posts: 782
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

@Eric: Looks really great! Already two requests for future development: a) I would give the container div a fixed height … so that there are no ups and downs when toggling the features. b) one undo button please … :)

Offline

#20 2009-01-26 18:07:19

TheEric
Plugin Author
From: Wyoming
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 566

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

FireFusion wrote:

I get the following error when trying to create a thumbnail if one already exists…

The file permissions are set incorrectly in your images folder.

Last edited by TheEric (2009-01-26 18:07:38)

Offline

#21 2009-01-26 19:39:20

TheEric
Plugin Author
From: Wyoming
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 566

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

Update

Slight bug-fix that FireFusion encountered. If the thumbnail didn’t exist previously, it wouldn’t display. So, after a little jquery / dom traversing, I’ve come up with the following that fixes that behavior:

if(! $('#thumbTD').length ) { $("#list td:eq(1)").attr('id','thumbTD'); }

For those of you who feel daring, just insert the above, below the line that has the following:

$('#image-thumbnail td:first').attr('id','thumbTD'); // name the TD that contains the image so we can swap it out.

For those of you not feeling so daring, just remove the previous version and redownload and reinstall the plugin code here

Offline

#22 2009-01-27 10:16:58

THE BLUE DRAGON
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2007-11-16
Posts: 600
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

TheEric wrote:

That is the intended behaviour. If you resize without the restrict option checked, it will resize the thumbnail to the longest side. If it didn’t do it this way, then the thumbnail would be distorted. (e.g., images would be stretched/squished)
Example: I have a crop area that is set for 100 × 100, and I create a crop area that is 150 × 250, the thumbnail will be resized to 60px × 100px. The 250px height will be resized down to 100px, and the 150 will be resized down to 60px, a ratio of 3:5

so it has no use when it comes to crop real specific size of rectangle
this plugin good only for croping squares, right?

usually in photoshop I specific the size of rectangle in px on top
and then creating the crop area, and that crop area will never can be stretched or squished from being a rectangle.
and here in jcrop it’s free and you can create what shape you just want, so it’s not good, not a real crop.
just like in the regular “Create thumbnail” option with the “Crop” option checked, but with free to control it.
I will send to your mail an example link for what I need to, sorry can’t share it here.

Offline

#23 2009-01-27 13:37:13

TheEric
Plugin Author
From: Wyoming
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 566

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

THE BLUE DRAGON wrote:

so it has no use when it comes to crop real specific size of rectangle
this plugin good only for croping squares, right?

View the screencast

You can crop any area you want, be it a square or rectangle. You can do the same thing with the thumbnail option.

Notice the Width X Height indicator? If you want the crop area to be 250 × 100, then adjust it until it is. Move it around, it’ll stay that size until you adjust it again.

Last edited by TheEric (2009-01-27 13:54:58)

Offline

#24 2009-01-30 01:30:26

dl33
Member
Registered: 2006-06-17
Posts: 192
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

Is it possible to change the cropping functionality (especially for the thumbnail) to be more like photoshop. In that case the thumbnail dimensions would automatically dictate an aspect ratio. Resizing the crop area would only change the area but the size and aspect ratio of the final thumbnail will be as told by theh thumbnail dimensions.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB