Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#13 2008-12-10 13:13:35

hcgtv
Plugin Author
From: Key Largo, Florida
Registered: 2005-11-29
Posts: 2,722
Website

Re: Write tab, 4.0.7

wet wrote:

  1. Locate a snippet starting with “function toggleDisplay(id)”
  2. Post the next three lines of code

function toggleDisplay(id)
{
	var obj = $('#' + id);
	if (obj) obj.toggle();
}

Offline

#14 2008-12-10 16:40:14

wet
Developer Emeritus
From: Schoerfling, Austria
Registered: 2005-06-06
Posts: 3,328
Website Mastodon

Re: Write tab, 4.0.7

I’m having difficulties to reproduce the defect with Konqueror 4.1.2 on Ubuntu 8.10. Every toggle pane works as expected. trenc, which Konqueror version do you use?

Offline

#15 2008-12-10 22:48:05

els
Moderator
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,458

Re: Write tab, 4.0.7

If it helps, it doesn’t work in Konqueror 3.5.6 on Feisty.

Offline

#16 2008-12-11 08:43:21

trenc
Plugin Author
From: Malmö
Registered: 2008-02-27
Posts: 572
Website GitHub

Re: Write tab, 4.0.7

wet wrote:

I’m having difficulties to reproduce the defect with Konqueror 4.1.2 on Ubuntu 8.10. Every toggle pane works as expected. trenc, which Konqueror version do you use?

It’s Konqueror 3.5.10 on Debian Lenny.

Offline

#17 2008-12-11 08:58:31

wet
Developer Emeritus
From: Schoerfling, Austria
Registered: 2005-06-06
Posts: 3,328
Website Mastodon

Re: Write tab, 4.0.7

Please provide some folklore, as I am not a so cross-platform person as it might be appropriate: How do Konqueror users deal with upgrades in general? Like the IE 6 folks, or like the FF3 folks? Is it worth any efforts to support an overdue version because of the conservative user demographic?

Offline

#18 2008-12-11 09:17:19

trenc
Plugin Author
From: Malmö
Registered: 2008-02-27
Posts: 572
Website GitHub

Re: Write tab, 4.0.7

It’s different from distribution to distribution. See, Ubuntu is shipped with KDE 4.1, while in stable Debian (called etch) KDE is still 3.5.5 and the next stable Debian (Lenny — it’s in frozen state now), which I use this time, is 3.5.10. So I think Debian will ship KDE 4.1 or 4.2 in their stable version in 2010 or maybe 2011 (don’t slap me if I’m wrong).

But this is only debian-related. Most linux-distros are shipping (or will shortly shipping) KDE 4.1.

I myself can live with this jquery issue. Maybe we can offer a plugin as workaround, that will set display:none via javascript/jquery for these related dropdowns?

Last edited by trenc (2008-12-11 09:18:46)

Offline

#19 2008-12-11 09:23:33

wet
Developer Emeritus
From: Schoerfling, Austria
Registered: 2005-06-06
Posts: 3,328
Website Mastodon

Re: Write tab, 4.0.7

Thanks for the clarification. Personally, I do not see much need for the plugin either, as we probably intend to save and restore the toggle state of all those panes in a future release. This will require some mangling with the display attribute anyhow.

So, as adding that feature would hit two nails on one head, I think we could add this in the next release as well, and call it a day.

Offline

#20 2008-12-11 09:36:17

wet
Developer Emeritus
From: Schoerfling, Austria
Registered: 2005-06-06
Posts: 3,328
Website Mastodon

Re: Write tab, 4.0.7

FTW, try this:

# txp_toggleminglemangleforkonqueror35 v0.1
# Help Konqueror to understand jQuery's toggle() method.
# Robert Wetzlmayr
# http://textpattern.com/

# ......................................................................
# This is a plugin for Textpattern - http://textpattern.com/
# To install: textpattern > admin > plugins
# Paste the following text into the 'Install plugin' box:
# ......................................................................
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=

Last edited by wet (2008-12-11 09:38:38)

Offline

#21 2008-12-11 10:29:04

trenc
Plugin Author
From: Malmö
Registered: 2008-02-27
Posts: 572
Website GitHub

Re: Write tab, 4.0.7

Hehe, was quick.

But it doesn’t work out of the box. Either I have to change the display:none in the plugin to display:block (as a result the panes are always open, logically) or I comment out the toggle class in the textpattern.css.

A double call of the display in the plugin — first block and then none — doesn’t work too.

Last edited by trenc (2008-12-11 10:33:21)

Offline

#22 2008-12-11 20:27:48

hcgtv
Plugin Author
From: Key Largo, Florida
Registered: 2005-11-29
Posts: 2,722
Website

Re: Write tab, 4.0.7

wet wrote:

FTW, try this:

# txp_toggleminglemangleforkonqueror35 v0.1
# Help Konqueror to understand jQuery's toggle() method.
# Robert Wetzlmayr
# http://textpattern.com/

I tried this, still the same issue.

I’m gonna go back to 4.0.6, never downgraded TxP before, always a first time for everything.

Edit: Tried downgrading a local install, did not go well. Anyway, on the 4.0.7 live install, I copied over the jquery.js and textpattern.js files from 4.0.6. Now I can toggle, though it appears to not be as smooth as 4.0.6 is. At times, I have to click twice for it to toggle, but at least I can get to the more are to adjust my date.

Last edited by hcgtv (2008-12-11 21:04:43)

Offline

#23 2008-12-11 22:31:43

trenc
Plugin Author
From: Malmö
Registered: 2008-02-27
Posts: 572
Website GitHub

Re: Write tab, 4.0.7

Hi Bert,

the plugin offered by wet does work, additional you only have to comment or delete the following lines in textpattern.css:

.toggle {
display:none
}

Offline

#24 2008-12-12 18:47:42

hcgtv
Plugin Author
From: Key Largo, Florida
Registered: 2005-11-29
Posts: 2,722
Website

Re: Write tab, 4.0.7

trenc wrote:

the plugin offered by wet does work, additional you only have to comment or delete the following lines in textpattern.css:

.toggle {
display:none
}

The plugin doesn’t work for me in Firefox, and if I uncomment the lines you specfiy then yes, everything always displays.

What I’m trying to determine is this my own problem or are others having similar issues?

This is the first site I upgrade to 4.0.7, if I can’t 4.0.7 working right on this site, then I’m wondering what to do next.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB