Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#85 2008-07-09 07:37:15

jakob
Admin
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-01-20
Posts: 4,367
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ied_hide_in_admin version 0.1.: Hide Fields in Admin

Yes, more #ids as ‘hooks’ in the back-end would help. If I remember rightly, that’s why ied_hide_in_admin doesn’t already use that approach.


TXP Builders – finely-crafted code, design and txp

Offline

#86 2008-07-09 08:29:47

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ied_hide_in_admin version 0.1.: Hide Fields in Admin

renobird wrote:

It seems to me that if each element in the admin had/has a unique id or class
then it wouldn’t be to difficult to use jquery to show/hide those elements – no matter how they are arranged.

FWIW I totally agree.
As a bonus I think this kind of modifications can be made quite easily and – if done wisely (for example prepending a certain prefix to such ids and classes) – it can’t in any manner interfere with existing plugins and core functions

Offline

#87 2008-07-09 12:05:17

robin746
Member
From: Ireland
Registered: 2007-09-22
Posts: 113
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ied_hide_in_admin version 0.1.: Hide Fields in Admin

renobird wrote:

It seems to me that if each element in the admin had/has a unique id or class
then it wouldn’t be to difficult to use jquery to show/hide those elements – no matter how they are arranged.

Yep. It really is that easy. If this could be in the next Textpattern version it would enable some really cool plugins.


robin

Offline

#88 2008-10-06 10:14:23

daver89
Member
From: Walsall, UK
Registered: 2007-12-02
Posts: 22
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ied_hide_in_admin version 0.1.: Hide Fields in Admin

Can anyone help me, i can’t seem to get this plugin working at all. i have tried it on a fresh install but it won’t hide anything. is this plugin still support with 4.06.

if it doesn’t can anyone give me any other suggestions please?

dave.

Offline

#89 2008-10-06 11:16:55

masa
Member
From: Asturias, Spain
Registered: 2005-11-25
Posts: 1,091

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ied_hide_in_admin version 0.1.: Hide Fields in Admin

I don’t have any problems under 4.0.6. Sorry if that’s obvious, but if you use it to hide features for someone with less privileges, you need to log in as that user to see the changes.

Offline

#90 2008-10-06 11:31:30

daver89
Member
From: Walsall, UK
Registered: 2007-12-02
Posts: 22
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ied_hide_in_admin version 0.1.: Hide Fields in Admin

This is near enough a fresh install, the only other plugin in tiny_mce. But i have unticked everything on every user and nothing seems to happen.

i am looking at the php and from my basic knowledge i am assume this is adding js to the article tab to hide items. but when i check the source of my write tab nothing has been added.

EDIT: the status section is hidden on any permissions when i untick eveything but all the other fields remain.

Last edited by daver89 (2008-10-06 11:35:46)

Offline

#91 2008-10-06 11:43:53

masa
Member
From: Asturias, Spain
Registered: 2005-11-25
Posts: 1,091

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ied_hide_in_admin version 0.1.: Hide Fields in Admin

I don’t use tiny mce – have you tried disabling that to see whether there’s a conflict?

Offline

#92 2008-10-06 12:04:03

daver89
Member
From: Walsall, UK
Registered: 2007-12-02
Posts: 22
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ied_hide_in_admin version 0.1.: Hide Fields in Admin

Yes, i installed this plugin before tiny mce and it didn’t work then.

I know how to add the javascript to hide certain things using jquery but i don’t know how to insert it into the page. if anyone can help be do this i will be fine.

Offline

#93 2008-10-06 12:13:37

masa
Member
From: Asturias, Spain
Registered: 2005-11-25
Posts: 1,091

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ied_hide_in_admin version 0.1.: Hide Fields in Admin

I just remembered having a problem with this plugin a while ago. It was solved by installing sed_section_fields and the necessary sed_plugin_library v0.5

I could be imagining this, but I think at some point changes were made to both plugins to make them compatible.

Offline

#94 2008-10-06 15:05:30

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ied_hide_in_admin version 0.1.: Hide Fields in Admin

Dave,
have a look at this old post from mine.
Hope this helps.

Last edited by redbot (2008-10-06 15:07:41)

Offline

#95 2009-01-25 17:05:30

masa
Member
From: Asturias, Spain
Registered: 2005-11-25
Posts: 1,091

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ied_hide_in_admin version 0.1.: Hide Fields in Admin

It seems that this useful plugin has finally stopped working more or less. It used to be fine for me up until and including 4.0.6

Now in 4.0.8 it doesn’t have any effect on Advanced Options, Textile Help etc. It sort of still hides the category drop-downs, but the labels “Category 1” and “Category 2” are still visible.

Hiding the columns in the Categories tab still works though.

Is anyone else having better luck under 4.0.8 ?

Offline

#96 2009-01-25 17:27:00

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,410

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ied_hide_in_admin version 0.1.: Hide Fields in Admin

masa wrote:

Is anyone else having better luck under 4.0.8 ?

Yes, is working for me.
Keep in mind though that it’s always been a pain to make it work – at least for me.
In my case – for example – I always had to activate and then save every single option (choose option ->save, choose another option ->save, etc.).
Notwithstanding this problems the plugin has always worked – and continues to work ok.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB