Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#21 2006-03-05 06:04:24

rbe
Member
Registered: 2006-02-12
Posts: 27
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_google_map - display articles on google maps

@ma_smith – who is your host? I had the exact same problem and it was with apache’s mod_security module. I host with dreamhost and had to turn off the “Extra Web Security” feature. There is an article on the faq about this but I can’t seem to find it right now. I had the error when I was hacking the google sitemap plugin…

found the link the faq articles references a 412 Precondition Failed error, but it describes similar behavior… Once I ditched mod_security it worked great!

Last edited by rbe (2006-03-05 06:08:37)

Offline

#22 2006-03-05 06:09:27

squaredeye
Member
From: Greenville, SC
Registered: 2005-07-31
Posts: 1,495
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_google_map - display articles on google maps

RBE, oh yeah, yer the man, I am hosted by dreamhost too. I’ll go look this up. If you can find that faq it would be helpful :)

Thanks man, maybe I can begin rolling on this little guy.


Offline

#23 2006-03-05 06:31:13

rbe
Member
Registered: 2006-02-12
Posts: 27
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_google_map - display articles on google maps

just go to the panel -> domains -> manage domains -> pick your domain and click edit… uncheck “Extra Web Security (Highly Reccomended)” and save it. All should be well after that :) Good luck!

Offline

#24 2006-05-02 14:09:00

shermer
New Member
Registered: 2006-04-13
Posts: 4

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_google_map - display articles on google maps

hi

when i try to install this plugin in the admin section i get the error message,

‘Badly formed or empty plugin code’

does anyone know whats wrong here?

thanks

Offline

#25 2006-05-02 16:37:22

squaredeye
Member
From: Greenville, SC
Registered: 2005-07-31
Posts: 1,495
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_google_map - display articles on google maps

shermer,
you likely didn’t grab the entire code, but only part of it.
Try again. Make sure the code full loads before you copy/paste it.

:)


Offline

#26 2006-05-02 16:48:31

shermer
New Member
Registered: 2006-04-13
Posts: 4

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_google_map - display articles on google maps

thanks for your reply…

have tried again and still no joy. i’m definatley copying the whole code and all my other plugins work just fine.

im building a site locally at the moment so is it possible that this is the problem?

cheers
simon

Offline

#27 2006-05-02 16:51:47

squaredeye
Member
From: Greenville, SC
Registered: 2005-07-31
Posts: 1,495
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_google_map - display articles on google maps

shermer,
are you getting the plugin code from uptop? I just installed it fine locally, no problem whatsoever?

Try disabling all other plugins and see if anything changes. I have only ever seen that error if you weren’t grabbing the whole code.

Describe your process?

M


Offline

#28 2006-05-02 17:23:00

shermer
New Member
Registered: 2006-04-13
Posts: 4

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_google_map - display articles on google maps

yep, copied the code from above by pressing ‘apple+a’ keys on the mac. then scrolled to the bottom of the page to make sure its all selected. then i pressed ‘apple+c’ then went to the plugins tab and pasted ‘apple+v’ the code into the ‘install plugin: ‘ box.

i’ve tried deactiving all other plugins first aswell and still cant get it working.

Offline

#29 2006-05-02 17:25:20

squaredeye
Member
From: Greenville, SC
Registered: 2005-07-31
Posts: 1,495
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_google_map - display articles on google maps

If you’re running on MAMP,
you may try installing fresh and seeing if that works?

If you’re not using MAMP you should be :)

Maybe we can yet get this solved?


Offline

#30 2006-05-04 14:32:48

shermer
New Member
Registered: 2006-04-13
Posts: 4

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_google_map - display articles on google maps

im not running mamp on my mac. but im running xampp(freshly installed and a fresh install of textpattern) on my pc and im still getting the same error message when i try to install the plugin. i’ve tried switching between versions 4 and 5 of php but its still not working.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB