Textpattern Forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2012-04-29 04:09:42

lozmatic
Member
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2006-08-27
Posts: 259
Website

$path_to_site oddness

Hi,

I’ve moving a site to another server and have done the usual stuff – editing the config file correctly.

But I am still getting the $path_to_site: from the previous server.

Do I have to edit the path anywhere else apart from the config file?

cheers.

Lawrence

Offline

#2 2012-04-29 08:44:04

tye
Member
From: Pottsville, NSW
Registered: 2005-07-06
Posts: 814
Website

Re: $path_to_site oddness

Admin —> Preferences —> Advanced —> File directory path
Admin —> Preferences —> Advanced —> Temporary directory path

Are the only others you need to check which I can think of

Offline

#3 2012-05-01 22:47:58

lozmatic
Member
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2006-08-27
Posts: 259
Website

Re: $path_to_site oddness

Hi,

I’ve changed these, yes.

I’ve also searched the database and found no reference to the old host.

This is odd.

Offline

#4 2012-05-01 23:00:15

tye
Member
From: Pottsville, NSW
Registered: 2005-07-06
Posts: 814
Website

Re: $path_to_site oddness

Whats the url – is it something we can see?

Offline

#5 2012-05-02 04:31:48

lozmatic
Member
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2006-08-27
Posts: 259
Website

Re: $path_to_site oddness

The site is here: http://101.128.5.8/~nyary60 (but it doesn’t work given some issues with the htaccess), hosted on Site5.

TXP admin works, though, and I get this in the preflight check:

$path_to_site: /nfs/c02/h11/mnt/18830/domains/nyary604.com.au/html

Which is the path define on the live site, hosted on MediaTemple (www.nyary604.com.au)

Thanks!

Offline

#6 2012-05-02 04:48:38

tye
Member
From: Pottsville, NSW
Registered: 2005-07-06
Posts: 814
Website

Re: $path_to_site oddness

Add the domain with the Site5 IP address to your hosts file so you can test it on your machine locally and see what the path is then – it should act as though the site is live on the new server

If you haven’t used hosts before, heres a few “how tos” on mac, pc and a full resource

Offline

#7 2012-05-08 22:34:44

lozmatic
Member
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2006-08-27
Posts: 259
Website

Re: $path_to_site oddness

Hi tye,

Thanks for your help.

Where would I find this hosts file?

I had a look at all TXP files and nothing seems to match.

Offline

#8 2012-05-08 23:22:55

Gocom
Developer
Registered: 2006-07-14
Posts: 4,476
Website

Re: $path_to_site oddness

It’s not a Textpattern related file. See the links Tye provided.

Anyways, path_to_site is updated and generated automatically when the frontend of the site is accessed. The path doesn’t need to be set anywhere, it’s dynamic. Given your issues with .htaccess and inability to access the site’s frontend, the path will still point to the old location until you access the frontend.

Last edited by Gocom (2012-05-08 23:35:27)


Rah-plugins | What? I’m a little confused… again :-) <txp:is_god />

Offline

#9 2012-05-08 23:48:29

MattD
Plugin Author
From: Monterey, California
Registered: 2008-03-21
Posts: 1,196
Website

Re: $path_to_site oddness

What’s your htaccess issue?

I’ve used Site5 and had zero issues with multiple Textpattern installs.


My Plugins

Piwik Dashboard, Minibar, Article Image Colorpicker, Admin Datepicker, Admin Google Map, Admin Colorpicker

Offline

#10 2012-05-09 01:48:17

lozmatic
Member
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2006-08-27
Posts: 259
Website

Re: $path_to_site oddness

Thanks and sorry for not reading tye’s post in full – the links explain it all very well.

And thanks Gocom for your explanation too.

MattD, In the end the htaccess issue was resolved. Site5’s original suggesion involved BASHing (whetever that is) and updating the php.ini file, but all it took was a tweak of the htaccess file.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB