Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2018-05-23 19:57:59

Dylan

Customize article-list output?

Hi all,

I’m new to textpattern (used for a day, love it so far).

I’m just wondering whether it is possible to modify the output of article-list? I can see from the PHP side I have <txp:article class=“article-list” form=“article_listing” limit=“10” wraptag=“ul” /> and this is outputted as article title, posted date, author, etc. Is it possible to omit author and date from the output? I can’t see how to do it anywhere.

Dylan

#2 2018-05-23 20:00:26

jakob
Admin
Website

Re: Customize article-list output?

Hi Dylan and welcome,

Have a look at the form called article_listing. That defines how the article is actually output. You can change that (or perhaps better, duplicate and rename it), then play around with the tags in it. Change the attribute to form="your_form_name" and you’ll see your changes.

TXP Builders – finely-crafted code, design and txp

#3 2018-05-23 20:02:07

Dylan

I will try that!

Thanks very much jakob.

Dylan

#4 2018-05-23 20:13:46

Dylan

Hmmmm… I’m still struggling to get this to work. I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong.

#5 2018-05-23 20:55:09

michaelkpate
Website GitHub Mastodon

Which part isn’t working?

#6 2018-05-23 21:07:08

Dylan

To be honest, I have no idea what I’m doing, how to combine the code to get it to just display a list of articles but remove the author and time :/

#7 2018-05-23 21:25:42

Dylan

I’m looking through article lists here:http://txptag.org/txp/article_custom

All I see is how to change the returned items based on queries, but nothing about hiding certain parts (such as timestamp).

#8 2018-05-23 21:51:22

Bloke
Developer
Website GitHub

Okay, a quick primer:

• When an article tag is encountered, Textpattern looks at the URL.
  • It says to itself: is this URL an individual article or is it a landing page (article list)?