Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2015-07-10 03:54:34

hcgtv
Plugin Author
From: Key Largo, Florida
Registered: 2005-11-29
Posts: 2,722
Website

Diagnostics on a dev build

Got Git going, say it 3 times fast.

Cloned the Textpattern Master branch to my local web server, ran the install, I’m in business.

Go to Diagnostics, met with this:

New Textpattern version 4.5.7 available for download. ?

/home/www/zendstudio/textpattern-dev/textpattern/setup/ still exists ?

Some Textpattern files have been modified:
/home/www/zendstudio/textpattern-dev/index.php,
/home/www/zendstudio/textpattern-dev/css.php,

And the list goes on for a bit, before you get to the diagnostics.

How about we detect a dev build and forget about checking for the above?

Offline

#2 2015-07-10 04:20:21

MattD
Plugin Author
From: Monterey, California
Registered: 2008-03-21
Posts: 1,254
Website

Re: Diagnostics on a dev build

I think this is normal, checksums aren’t updated until a release candidate.

Edit- missed your last line. Eh… Let’s concentrate on changes worth something?

Last edited by MattD (2015-07-10 04:21:12)


My Plugins

Piwik Dashboard, Google Analytics Dashboard, Minibar, Article Image Colorpicker, Admin Datepicker, Admin Google Map, Admin Colorpicker

Offline

#3 2015-07-10 09:52:32

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 11,271
Website GitHub

Re: Diagnostics on a dev build

hcgtv wrote #292998:

How about we detect a dev build and forget about checking for the above?

The New Version check is supposed to know that 4.6-dev > 4.5.7 and not offer any upgrade notification. Spotted it yesterday actually in one of my rare visits to the Diagnostics panel. No idea why it erroneously reports the new version is available. Any clues or pull requests to fix it appreciated.


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#4 2015-07-10 10:58:24

CeBe
Plugin Author
From: Caen - Fr
Registered: 2010-06-25
Posts: 345
Website

Re: Diagnostics on a dev build

Bloke wrote #293014:

Any clues or pull requests to fix it appreciated.

From my local installation :

SELECT *
FROM `txp_prefs`
WHERE `name` LIKE 'version'
LIMIT 0 , 30

=> 4.5.4

I changed it for 4.6.0 and deleted the last_update_check. It’s now OK.

In update/_update.php, l.155 ($dbversion = '4.6.0';) is commented out.

Offline

#5 2015-07-10 11:02:35

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 11,271
Website GitHub

Re: Diagnostics on a dev build

CeBe wrote #293028:

In update/_update.php, l.155 ($dbversion = '4.6.0';) is commented out.

Yes, on purpose. That’s the trigger for a final release so it gets set only when bundling up Txp for release. I’d have expected the update test to fail though if your existing version is, say, 4.5.7 and the next available official version is the same number. Must be a logic bug in there somewhere…


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#6 2015-07-10 11:10:01

CeBe
Plugin Author
From: Caen - Fr
Registered: 2010-06-25
Posts: 345
Website

Re: Diagnostics on a dev build

Bloke wrote #293030:

I’d have expected the update test to fail though if your existing version is, say, 4.5.7

I missed a word or two : I meant “my local 4.6-dev installation”.
But this 4.6 is identified as a 4.5.4.
When I manually set version to 4.6.0 or 4.5.7 I don’t see the notification anymore.
So everything works as expected :)

Offline

#7 2015-07-10 11:43:49

hcgtv
Plugin Author
From: Key Largo, Florida
Registered: 2005-11-29
Posts: 2,722
Website

Re: Diagnostics on a dev build

CeBe wrote #293034:

But this 4.6 is identified as a 4.5.4.

My dev install says version 4.5.4 in preferences also.

No matter what I change the version to in preferences, I still get the New Textpattern version 4.5.7 available for download.

Wasn’t there talk of the RPC server going offline at some point?

As for the pre-flight check on a dev build, there’s already checking for a dev build in the diag code:

// Running development code in live mode is not recommended.
    if (preg_match('/-dev$/', txp_version) and $production_status == 'live') {
        $fail['dev_version_live'] = diag_msg_wrap(gTxt('dev_version_live'), 'warning');
    }

So in changing up the Diagnostics, you can either wrap what you don’t want in something like:

// Are we running development code?
if (!preg_match('/-dev$/', txp_version) {
	// Files that don't match their checksums.
	if ($modified_files = array_keys($cs, INTEGRITY_MODIFIED)) {
		$fail['modified_files'] = diag_msg_wrap(gTxt('modified_files').cs.n.t.join(', '.n.t, $modified_files), 'warning');
		}
}

Or shuffle around the diagnostics code and wrap a if (!preg_match(‘/-dev$/’, txp_version) around it.

I’m just asking because I’ve never made an official mod, or sent a pull request before, don’t know what best practices are when it comes to making changes.

Offline

#8 2015-07-10 12:48:51

CeBe
Plugin Author
From: Caen - Fr
Registered: 2010-06-25
Posts: 345
Website

Re: Diagnostics on a dev build

hcgtv wrote #293041:

No matter what I change the version to in preferences, I still get the New Textpattern version 4.5.7 available for download.

Because, as updates are scanned only once per 24 hours, you need to delete the last_update_check line too.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB