Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2010-02-09 00:52:49

th3lonius
Website

user controlled article sorting

I haven’t seen this precisely addressed in this forum or elsewhere but if it has been forgive me. This should be simple to do.

I am working on a film review website and what I need is a table in my “Reviews” category that lists all of the review articles. By default they should be listed by Title descending, but I want to give users the option of sorting by year (custom field with film’s release year) or country (custom field for country associated with the film), and maybe a few others. Of course they should be able to sort ascending/descending for each field.

This is a screenshot from www.notcoming.com (another film review site) that has basically what I want:

http://th3lonius.byethost14.com/notcoming.jpg

I am new to textpattern. Any help with this is greatly appreciated!

Last edited by th3lonius (2010-02-09 01:15:27)

#2 2010-02-09 01:09:54

jsoo
Plugin Author
Website

Re: user controlled article sorting

Two approaches to consider:

• Use javascript to handle the re-sorting (jquery is included with Txp, so that is a logical choice);
  • Use the adi_gps plugin and create your own query paramater for the sort value, then apply that to the relevant article or article_custom tag.

I think the javascript solution is the way to go. I can also conceive of no-plugin-no-javascript solutions, but nothing I’d actually want to attempt.

BTW check out this online Textile demo to learn Textile syntax for, inter alia, making links in the forum:

"http://th3lonius.byethost14.com/notcoming.jpg":http://th3lonius.byethost14.com/notcoming.jpg

http://th3lonius.byethost14.com/notcoming.jpg

Code is topiary

#3 2010-02-09 01:18:36

th3lonius
Website