Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2009-07-25 10:22:31

mungy

Bilingual website

I’m making a website for a friend that has to be in English and Welsh. I have searched, but can’t find anything specific enough and anything beyond HTML normally breaks my brain. Any help would be most welcome.

#2 2009-07-25 15:03:41

mungy

Re: Bilingual website

I’m trying to work it out, really I am.

I intend to use category 2 to select the language of each article. That seems straight forward enough. What I don’t understand at all is how to pass the language selected in a form (I’d much rather have a link, but that has stumped me as well) onto all subsequent pages until the language is changed by the user.

I’d like to do a site wide change of language including the navigation bar and anything else on the page. I really could do with some help.

Part of my problem is that I’m a very infrequent html writer and even less a php mangler. Also my disability means I have regular logic failings and occasional disorganised thinking.

So far I have one page – not going any further until the language thing is workable – cos I don’t fancy trying to fix it when its 20 pages long and I’ve long since forgot what I did to get there.

Please dig deep into your code, experience and extensive knowledge and give generously.

I’ll even buy you a pint if every we should meet unexpectedly in some odd corner of the world, Wales in this case.

#3 2009-07-25 15:16:58

maniqui
Website

Hi Mungy,

could the multilingual publishing pack for Textpattern the solution to your problems?

And you also have a poorman’s solution here.

La música ideas portará y siempre continuará

TXP Builders – finely-crafted code, design and txp

#4 2009-07-25 15:40:07

mungy

Thanks for the response. The Multilingual plugin either doesn’t have welsh/cymraeg as an option or I couldn’t figure how to use it.