Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2009-03-24 22:02:32

macinchik

make default status draft instead of live?

A request from a client. Is this possible?

Thanks,
Jenn

#2 2009-03-24 23:05:43

the_ghost
Plugin Author
Website

Re: make default status draft instead of live?

Sure. With jQuery you can make radio buttom be selected on page load. Use jmd_admin_js to easily insert js into admin

Providing help in hacking ATM! Come to courses and don’t forget to bring us notebook and hammer! What for notebook? What a kind of hacker you are without notebok?

#3 2010-06-26 16:53:06

Kimberly

Actually, you can do this very easily if you edit the txp.articles.php script. I am new to Textpattern, as in just started new, and before I can even start to use the programme I find I am having to edit the php scripts. I did a lot of searching for where you go to change the default status for articles and finally came to the conclusion that you can not. Therefore, off to edit the scripts for something that could be stored in the db. And it is easier to edit the php script than to write a plugin; especially when I don’t know how to write plugins for Textpattern.

Most users don’t write articles off line, they use the on line editor and save unfinished articles just as one would in off line applications in case of a computer or internet crash. Therefore, to keep from accidentally publishing an unfinished article, the default status should always be draft.

Now to the fix,

Go to the /textpattern/include/ and open the txp.articles.php file into a text editor of your choice (you want a pure text editor)

Scroll down to line 1025 (or close)

you will find the following line:
$Status = (!$Status) ? 4 : $Status;

Change the 4 to a 1 (if you look at the status list, you will see the numbers correspond to the listing)