Textpattern Forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#41 2005-11-15 09:21:10

Sencer
Developer emeritus
From: cgn, de
Registered: 2004-03-23
Posts: 1,803
Website

Re: asy_jpcache 0.9.8 - Fast Full Page Caching

And this only happens with Firefox 1.5 and not with Firefox 1.0.7? Very strange.

I guess I’ll have to start playing with 1.5 then. It might take me a few days…

Offline

#42 2005-11-15 10:26:01

juanjonavarro
Plugin Author
From: Valencia, Spain
Registered: 2005-05-16
Posts: 479
Website

Re: asy_jpcache 0.9.8 - Fast Full Page Caching

No, I have this problem with firefox 1.0.7.

Offline

#43 2005-11-15 15:28:54

maniqui
Moderator
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Registered: 2004-10-10
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: asy_jpcache 0.9.8 - Fast Full Page Caching

I think I have found something else:

the bug is triggered (= you get a blank page) in this situation:

  • if you save a form without making any change.
  • if you modify a form but that modification doesn’t have any “impact” over the content of the refreshed page. Deep explanation: I have a form with some conditionals thay may have “impact” on the content layout of a page. If I make a change (add a simple comma) outside the conditional that is related to the output for the content layout of the refreshed page, then the blank page is triggered.

The but is not triggered (you can succesfully refresh the content with just an F5 hit):

  • if you modify a form and the modification has impact over the content of the refreshed page. This is the “countercase” (dont know if that word exists) of the above point.
    Deep explanation: I have a form with some conditionals thay may have “impact” on the content layout of a page. If I make a change (add a simple comma) inside the conditional that is related to the output for the content layout of the refreshed page, then the blank page is triggered.
  • if, for example, I add an excerpt to an article.

I will try to do some more testing.


La música ideas portará y siempre continuará

TXP Builders – finely-crafted code, design and txp

Offline

#44 2005-11-15 17:33:49

Sencer
Developer emeritus
From: cgn, de
Registered: 2004-03-23
Posts: 1,803
Website

Re: asy_jpcache 0.9.8 - Fast Full Page Caching

I suspect this has to do with you guys getting the wrong http-headers, is it possible that you are running PHP as (F)CGI? We fixed something similar for the feeds, looks like the same thing is happening here.

For a temporary fix: In jpcache-main.php find: header("HTTP/1.0 304"); and replace with header("Status: 304 Not Modified"); if this does help, I should have an updated version ready soon.

Offline

#45 2005-11-15 17:53:56

maniqui
Moderator
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Registered: 2004-10-10
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: asy_jpcache 0.9.8 - Fast Full Page Caching

> Sencer wrote:
> is it possible that you are running PHP as (F)CGI?

Yes. My hosting provider has changed to PHP as CGI in the last week.

> Sencer wrote:
> For a temporary fix: In jpcache-main.php find: header("HTTP/1.0 304"); and replace with header("Status: 304 Not Modified"); if this does help, I should have an updated version ready soon.

You are a magician!
I made the change you suggested and, at least by now, this is working good in FF 1.5.

Thanks, Sencer!


La música ideas portará y siempre continuará

TXP Builders – finely-crafted code, design and txp

Offline

#46 2005-11-16 03:09:14

soulship
Member
From: Always Sunny Charleston
Registered: 2004-04-30
Posts: 669
Website

Re: asy_jpcache 0.9.8 - Fast Full Page Caching

This fix is working for me as well. I have been having problems with one site in particular and just happened on this thread. Same problems. I was initially getting errors in ie/opera as well. Then those disappeared and the blank page ff issue showed up.

I posted all the errors ‘here”:http://forum.textpattern.com/viewtopic.php?id=12757

This was the error in ie and opera only: Notice: Undefined index: HTTP_REFERER in /users/home/xxxxxx/web/public/textpattern/lib/txplib_misc.php(455) : eval()’d code on line 271

I though maybe it was the hitlogger plug, but I made the “fix” suggeested and re-activated hitlogger and all seems well for the time being.

One thing I have noticed on this site is that I am getting this Etag where on other sites I am using this the Etag is not listed when examining the headers. I don’t know anything about Etags. Would this indicate anything out of the ordinary?

ETag: “jpd—1730008019.6157”

Thanks!
Jamie

Offline

#47 2005-11-16 10:07:29

Sencer
Developer emeritus
From: cgn, de
Registered: 2004-03-23
Posts: 1,803
Website

Re: asy_jpcache 0.9.8 - Fast Full Page Caching

Just a note: people not running on (F)CGI will worsen the situation by changing the code as described above.

Your error is not related to my plugin, soulship. There is exactly one occurence of $_SERVER['HTTP_REFERER'] in my code, and that is preceded by a check with isset(), precisely so it won’t throw errors like that.

ETag: "jpd-1730008019.6157" is used by the plugin to do caching stuff, like 304s. The jp is short for jpcache, which this plugin is based on.

Offline

#48 2005-12-31 13:41:08

edburdo
Member
Registered: 2004-09-20
Posts: 79
Website

Re: asy_jpcache 0.9.8 - Fast Full Page Caching

Still getting the same blank page (FF 1.5). Even after making the suggested change (using 4.0.3).


Eric

Offline

#49 2006-02-07 04:52:55

neptho
Member
From: A cold, dark place.
Registered: 2006-02-01
Posts: 23

Re: asy_jpcache 0.9.8 - Fast Full Page Caching

Wow, I’ve been beaten by a long shot. I was just checking to see if anyone else was working on adding jpcache or a similar caching system to Textpattern – as I ended up modling jpcache for myself, I figured it’d be semi-trivial to add to Textpattern as well.. I forgot how static my system was.

I’ve taken a look at this and updated the admin side plugin, but I still can’t seem to get it to work, at all. Even with a few modifications to 0.9.8, I get the ‘X-Cache: asy_jpcache -’ header, and then it dies, not reporting a version number, or anything, observe:

HEAD / HTTP/1.1
Host: mysite.dur

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Tue, 07 Feb 2006 04:42:03 GMT
Server: Apache
X-Cache: asy_jpcache -
Content-Type: text/html; charset=utf-8

Sencer: I added this to the very head of your cache plugin to ensure that it had both the globals, and the cache (from within index.php):

// Trivial modification by ssh to keep from hacking the root index.php if ( txpinterface == ‘public’ && !in_array ($_SERVER[“REQUEST_URI”], array(‘/&’)) ) { include_once( $_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"]."/textpattern/config.php" ); include_once( $_SERVER[“DOCUMENT_ROOT”].”/jpcache/jpcache.php” ); }

// I stole plenty of code from zem. Don’t tell him! ;)

I’ll take another look into it, but I’m guessing that it’s still having problems loading it’s locals. Since I’m forcing it to have the globals available, I assume $path_to_site and other variables are exposed? (Yeah, it’ll take two seconds to find out, I know, I know..)

Offline

#50 2006-04-09 06:27:59

maniqui
Moderator
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Registered: 2004-10-10
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: asy_jpcache 0.9.8 - Fast Full Page Caching

Hi,

this nice plug-in is generating very big files in the cache.
I have found 3 o 4 files about 6MB.
I would say that it’s caching the files to download (mp3 in this case), but I cant confirm that those large files are related to the mp3 files.
I have tried to download one of this big cached files and rename it with .mp3 extension, but it doesnt play in my media player.

So, I cant conclude that those cached files are the .mp3, but I would like to avoid them, because I dont have enough space at my hosting.

Sencer, do you think it’s possible?

BTW: i’m using bas_emff plug-in to stream mp3s (and also have links to files with the TXP capabilities), could that be related to this problem?

thanks in advance.


La música ideas portará y siempre continuará

TXP Builders – finely-crafted code, design and txp

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB