Textpattern Forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#31 2005-06-26 16:17:36

Els
Admin
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,383
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

In earlier posts some mentioned that they got a copy of the entire page in the popup when entering a search term. Only now I discovered that this is happening to me too, but only when & or # is entered.
I don’t think that this will happen very often, so it’s not really an urgent problem, just thought I’d mention it. I’m using version 0.2.2.


<txp:Els /> ;)
Tag Reference | Unexpected behaviour? Check the tag trace | Still no clue? Check the names of your custom fields

Offline

#32 2005-06-26 17:55:25

paularms
Member
From: University of Minnesota
Registered: 2004-10-21
Posts: 155
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

This is freakin awesome… at first I was skeptical as to its usefulness, but now I’m hooked… I just want to keep typing in random things!

doggiez: I’m not seeing that happen on my site… but it sure does on yours! also… just a note, but you might want to relatively position #LSResult down about 20 pixels so that the user searching can see what they are typing.

Offline

#33 2005-06-26 18:37:21

Els
Admin
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,383
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

Thank you, Paul, I changed the positioning.

I’ve done some research:

As said, when I enter & or # on my site, the whole page pops up (in Firefox 1.0.4 and in Opera 8.01, not in IE6.)
Exactly the same thing happens when I do this on blog.paularms.com.
It does not happen on wilshireone.com. Oh, it does, I didn’t wait long enough.

Now if someone can figure this out? I don’t think I can… So it must be something browser related? Then again, not entirely, since Paul can see it happening on my site, but not on his…

Edit: screenshot (Edit again: link removed)

Last edited by doggiez (2005-11-13 19:11:54)


<txp:Els /> ;)
Tag Reference | Unexpected behaviour? Check the tag trace | Still no clue? Check the names of your custom fields

Offline

#34 2005-06-26 19:41:49

paularms
Member
From: University of Minnesota
Registered: 2004-10-21
Posts: 155
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

doggiez: I can only reproduce this when typing # or & as the first character, but when you type one of them after that, it sometimes stops the javascript from updating the results (I think).

So, it is happening on my site, I just wasn’t entering them at the right time.

I don’t see this to ever be a problem… why would anyone type an ampersand or a pound sign as the first character in a search string?

Offline

#35 2005-06-26 20:16:09

Els
Admin
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,383
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

> paularms wrote:

> why would anyone type an ampersand or a pound sign as the first character in a search string?

You’re right, it’s not really a problem, just intriguing. I only found out because I wanted to search for ampersands in urls in my articles… don’t think anyone else would ever want to do that :)


<txp:Els /> ;)
Tag Reference | Unexpected behaviour? Check the tag trace | Still no clue? Check the names of your custom fields

Offline

#36 2005-06-27 02:01:02

blumie607
Member
Registered: 2004-03-08
Posts: 175
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

I guess no one else is having the problem of the search box not appear. Well, if it helps anyone to try to “debug”, here is the code that is supposed to produce the search input box:
<blockquote><code><input id=“livesearch” name=“q” value=“type here to search” onkeypress=“liveSearchStart()” size=“10” onblur=“if (this.value '') {this.value = 'type here to search';}" onfocus="if (this.value ‘type here to search’) {this.value = ‘’;}” autocomplete=“off” /></code></blockquote>


bludrop studios .::. Creative Expression

Offline

#37 2005-06-27 02:09:28

blumie607
Member
Registered: 2004-03-08
Posts: 175
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

Well I think I found my problem. Isn’t an input tag supposed to have the type=text part? It seems like my tag doesn’t have that. Is there a way to fix this?


bludrop studios .::. Creative Expression

Offline

#38 2005-06-27 04:32:54

kennethlove666
Member
From: arkansas
Registered: 2004-04-27
Posts: 107
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

edit the plugin. admin tab->plugins. find the plugin and click “edit” over on the right.


Listen to Kenneth

Offline

#39 2005-06-27 04:35:21

blumie607
Member
Registered: 2004-03-08
Posts: 175
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

Whoops. Didn’t think of that. If it works, though, why was it omitted from the beginning? I just installed a new version of the plugin from wilshire’s site. What went wrong?


bludrop studios .::. Creative Expression

Offline

#40 2005-06-27 04:39:27

blumie607
Member
Registered: 2004-03-08
Posts: 175
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

Well, it didn’t work. I also checked wilshire’s site, and it turns out that he doesn’t have the type="text" part either. My site is at http://www.midrasha.com. I can’t understand why the search field is not appearing.


bludrop studios .::. Creative Expression

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB