Textpattern Forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#31 2004-12-10 08:21:00

krik
New Member
Registered: 2004-08-08
Posts: 5

Re: [outdated] zem_contact, flexible mailto form

thanks a lot, zem!
now it works as a charm!

and thanks to those who forked up the ransom too :)

Offline

#32 2004-12-10 09:48:40

lee
Member
From: Normandy, France
Registered: 2004-06-17
Posts: 831

Re: [outdated] zem_contact, flexible mailto form

Thanks for all your great work zem, it really is appreciated.

Offline

#33 2004-12-10 23:06:01

zem
Developer emeritus
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-04-08
Posts: 2,579
Website

Re: [outdated] zem_contact, flexible mailto form

Version 0.6

Fixes a bug that let some required fields slip through empty.


Alex
tstate

Offline

#34 2004-12-11 14:21:13

jpdupont
Member
From: Virton (BE)
Registered: 2004-10-01
Posts: 432

Re: [outdated] zem_contact, flexible mailto form

Hello,

Like krik, I get bad french characters coding.
I try it with 0.6 version, and Outlook Express.

Offline

#35 2004-12-11 22:25:35

zem
Developer emeritus
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-04-08
Posts: 2,579
Website

Re: [outdated] zem_contact, flexible mailto form

Can you show me what the input and output characters are?

Do the same characters work in the Textpattern comment form, when “email comments to author” is turned on?


Alex
tstate

Offline

#36 2004-12-12 07:35:09

jpdupont
Member
From: Virton (BE)
Registered: 2004-10-01
Posts: 432

Re: [outdated] zem_contact, flexible mailto form

In the mail :

éÚÃ
Je vais à l’école à Paris.

===
Input :

éèà
Je vais à l’école à Paris.

====

I try to send the same strings in a comment (an check the “email comment …”) I never get the mail ….

Note : if I force display (in OExpress) to UTF-8, the mail is correctly displayed. On other mails, OE detect correct encoding. Here encoding is always badly detected.

Offline

#37 2004-12-12 09:45:09

zem
Developer emeritus
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-04-08
Posts: 2,579
Website

Re: [outdated] zem_contact, flexible mailto form

jpd,

The same input shows up fine here using Thunderbird and Kmail.

The utf-8 header is there. Looks like OE isn’t detecting it for some reason.

Can anyone else reproduce the problem using Outlook Express? I don’t have a copy I can use to test.


Alex
tstate

Offline

#38 2004-12-12 13:55:20

jpdupont
Member
From: Virton (BE)
Registered: 2004-10-01
Posts: 432

Re: [outdated] zem_contact, flexible mailto form

I try with Thunderbird and here all is OK.

I try to set iso-8859-1 coding in the plugin code without success. Same problem.

PHPMailer on the same server send correct coding.

And on my OE, others mails with utf-8 coding are correctly displayed.

Doug contact plugin give me the same bad coding.

Offline

#39 2004-12-12 14:34:58

jpdupont
Member
From: Virton (BE)
Registered: 2004-10-01
Posts: 432

Re: [outdated] zem_contact, flexible mailto form

I found the problem (not the solution) :

I try to use an other email to send the form : my provider email, and here all is OK.

Then I try to use my domain email again : here bad coding. I go to the mail source.
On this bad mail, the headers are part of the mail body (and encoding is not read by the mail client! ) because of extra empty line before headers.

See here :
=============

To: xx@xxxx.org
Subject: Email enquiry for Ecole Les Sources
From: xxx@yyyy.org
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit

Content-Type: text/plain; charset=“UTF-8”

Reply-To: xx@xxxx.org
X-RealFrom: xxxxx.net Message-Id: <20041212142013.31C73CE32xxxxxx.net>
Date: Sun, 12 Dec 2004 15:20:13 +0100 (CET)

Name: dfgdf
Email: xx@xxxxx.org
Message: éèÃ

=============
The first empty line stop the header part.
Where is the error ? Hosting ? Plugin ?

Thanks for the help !

Offline

#40 2004-12-12 23:25:43

zem
Developer emeritus
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-04-08
Posts: 2,579
Website

Re: [outdated] zem_contact, flexible mailto form

My guess is that one of the mail servers is picky about line feeds.

Try editing the plugin, and look for the ‘$headers’ stuff about 50 lines down. Change all the line ends from \r\n to \n. If that does the trick, I’ll update the plugin to make that selectable.


Alex
tstate

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB