Textpattern Forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#31 2009-10-20 12:50:17

kevinpotts
Member
From: Kansas City
Registered: 2004-12-07
Posts: 364
Website

Re: bot_privs: edit user level privileges

Oops sorry that’s not true. I wrote this plugin many months ago and I forgot some of the problems I faced at the time.
Now I remember there was a problem with dots (notation used by privileges in admin_config.php) and underscores (notation used with function names). So, to make it short, I’m sorry but I think the best way (at least for now) is to directly modify the code, as you are already doing.

Great plugin; very useful. So in order to hide specific Extensions tabs from users, I need to look for this line:

	add_privs('bot_privs_tab', '1,2');

The above will display the bot_privs tabs to anyone with the level of Publisher or Managing Editor, and if I add a “3” into the string, Copy Editors would be able to see it? I just want to make sure I understand it correctly.

Offline

#32 2009-10-20 13:42:08

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,396

Re: bot_privs: edit user level privileges

kevinpotts wrote:

Great plugin; very useful.

Thank you!

So in order to hide specific Extensions tabs from users, I need to look for this line…

Kevin, this line determines only which user levels can see the “bot_privs” tab, not other “extensions” sub-tabs.
IIRC you don’t have to modify the code because you can set this directly in the plugin preferences (see the last item of the list).
Please note that I have access to a slightly modified version of the plugin now so I hope I’m not mistaken.
In case I’ll upload the last version (which I updated then lost on my computer… I’m very untidy).

Conversely, if what you are looking for is the ability to add other privileges to the plugin (for example regarding the other “extensions” sub-tabs – which I didn’t include because they are dependant on the installed plugins) you should be able to do it by just adding one line to the code: if this is what you want I’ll show you how (sorry I have to re-examine the code – I forgot what I have written)

The above will display the bot_privs tabs to anyone with the level of Publisher or Managing Editor, and if I add a “3” into the string, Copy Editors would be able to see it? I just want to make sure I understand it correctly.

See the answer above – you just have to set preferences to do it.

Offline

#33 2009-10-20 13:58:22

kevinpotts
Member
From: Kansas City
Registered: 2004-12-07
Posts: 364
Website

Re: bot_privs: edit user level privileges

Kevin, this line determines only which user levels can see the “bot_privs” tab, not other “extensions” sub-tabs.

Understood. I just meant looking for that specific call in other admin-side plugins to show/hide from different user levels.

Conversely, if what you are looking for is the ability to add other privileges to the plugin (for example regarding the other “extensions” sub-tabs – which I didn’t include because they are dependant on the installed plugins) you should be able to do it by just adding one line to the code: if this is what you want I’ll show you how (sorry I have to re-examine the code – I forgot what I have written)

This is what I was looking for. And I do not see anything in preferences to make the modification.

Offline

#34 2009-10-20 14:27:23

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,396

Re: bot_privs: edit user level privileges

kevinpotts wrote:

I just meant looking for that specific call in other admin-side plugins to show/hide from different user levels.

Ok, I was confused by the snippet you posted (add_privs('bot_privs_tab', '1,2');).
So – if this time I understood it correctly – the answer is yes, you can choose to show/hide specific plugin tabs by modifying that line in each plugins code (but this has nothing to do with bot_privs) . Of course the code varies depending on the plugin, so for example for hak_tinymce you’ll write add_privs('hak_tinymce_prefs', '1,2,3'); in hak_tinymce code

In my previous answer I thought you wanted to achieve this functionality directly in the bot_privs preferences tab (and in this case you have to add one line in the bot_privs code).

Offline

#35 2009-10-20 15:08:19

kevinpotts
Member
From: Kansas City
Registered: 2004-12-07
Posts: 364
Website

Re: bot_privs: edit user level privileges

redbot wrote:

In my previous answer I thought you wanted to achieve this functionality directly in the bot_privs preferences tab (and in this case you have to add one line in the bot_privs code).

That would be great if you could share that.

Offline

#36 2009-10-20 16:23:50

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,396

Re: bot_privs: edit user level privileges

Ok, try version 0.3.2.
This doesen’t introduce new ‘official’ features but let’s you easily hack the plugin to add new privileges (go to “plugins” tab > bot_privs > edit and look around line 62 for a brief explanation)

Offline

#37 2009-11-16 08:55:05

Ldx
Member
Registered: 2009-10-24
Posts: 15

Re: bot_privs: edit user level privileges

redbot, thank you for this useful plugin!

Aldo

Offline

#38 2010-02-26 18:40:55

bici
Member
From: vancouver
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 450
Website

Re: bot_privs: edit user level privileges

Is there hope that this level of admin rights can be added to TxP native?


…. texted postive

Offline

#39 2010-02-26 19:05:03

redbot
Plugin Author
Registered: 2006-02-14
Posts: 1,396

Re: bot_privs: edit user level privileges

bici wrote:

Is there hope that this level of admin rights can be added to TxP native?

Hi Giovanni,
which level? Sorry I don’t understand your request…

edit
Ah ok, now I see your other post. But, again, I can’t answer your question because I’m not a developer.

Last edited by redbot (2010-02-26 19:08:29)

Offline

#40 2010-07-04 19:01:21

Els
Admin
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,374
Website

Re: bot_privs: edit user level privileges

Hi redbot, after installing the plugin and clicking ‘Install’ in the bot_privs tab in Extensions, I just see this:

bot_privs upgrade

bot_privs must be upgraded. Use the button below to add the new fields to the preferences table.

with a button ‘Upgrade’. But nothing happens if I click it, any idea what the problem could be? Using v. 0.3.2.


<txp:Els /> ;)
Tag Reference | Unexpected behaviour? Check the tag trace | Still no clue? Check the names of your custom fields

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB