Textpattern Forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#11 2005-06-14 15:19:17

variaas
Plugin Author
From: Chicago
Registered: 2005-01-16
Posts: 402
Website

Re: asv_amazon

oh ok…yeah the result I get from Amazon is an xml file which I store locally and then parse

Offline

#12 2005-06-14 20:09:43

davidm
Member
From: Paris, France
Registered: 2004-04-27
Posts: 719

Re: asv_amazon

I am interrested by this plugin, which I missed at the time, but my question is : will it be possible to use this plugin with european amazon websites, such as amazon.fr ?

Thx !


.: Retired :.

Offline

#13 2005-06-14 20:44:34

variaas
Plugin Author
From: Chicago
Registered: 2005-01-16
Posts: 402
Website

Re: asv_amazon

yeah that’s built in to the plugin…you can specify which locale to use. By default it is set to US, but you can set locale to any of the following:

  1. us – United States
  2. uk – United Kingdom
  3. de – Denmark
  4. jp – Japan
  5. fr – France
  6. ca – Canada

If you install the plugin you can check out the help section and learn how to use it before activating it.

Offline

#14 2005-06-14 21:10:13

variaas
Plugin Author
From: Chicago
Registered: 2005-01-16
Posts: 402
Website

Re: asv_amazon

Real quick everyone…just updated my plugin to fix a defect I found. The link at the top is updated to point to version 0.3. Also, the plugin can now be installed using the preferred installer and not the old way of uploading the txt file.

Offline

#15 2005-06-26 18:26:04

sekhu
Member
Registered: 2005-05-12
Posts: 428
Website

Re: asv_amazon

this is a nice plugin however….

i was wondering if two things could be done:

1) add an extensions tab – within this the ability to select a product from amazon using some sort of linked search facility within txp to amazon – and to be able to set settings such as the locale, an amzon id if applicable and what type of image, attributes etc.

2) the ability to shorten the title output to x amount of characters. Not sure if I can use the substr plugin in this regard but, for example: Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail ’72 (Harper Perennial Modern Classics S.) is a fairly long title for a fixed width column of 250px, so if it would wrap at least it would be good. Not sure if it does wrap, my sites a bit off right now.

thanks for this!

Offline

#16 2005-06-26 19:23:24

variaas
Plugin Author
From: Chicago
Registered: 2005-01-16
Posts: 402
Website

Re: asv_amazon

sekhu:

Those are great suggestions!

1) I actually am working right now on learning how to write admin side plugins because I did want to add that kind of search capabilities to the admin (a la the wp-amazon plugin).
In regards to the settings, is it common practice to store plugin settings as a text file somewhere or to create another table inside of the TXP database to access the data?

2) I’ll see if I can do a quick fix for that and just add another attribute to the tag (the list of attributes are getting pretty long, aren’t they?). But I’ll make sure to include that in the admin side of this plugin.

No idea on when that will be ready, but I’m hoping within three weeks I’m moving cities so I’m pretty swamped right now.

Offline

#17 2005-06-26 21:42:50

sekhu
Member
Registered: 2005-05-12
Posts: 428
Website

Re: asv_amazon

look forward to it variaas and obviously take your time – life is a priority over plugin :), safe moving!

Last edited by sekhu (2005-06-26 21:43:03)

Offline

#18 2005-10-06 19:34:54

kaline
Member
From: Plymouth, MN
Registered: 2005-07-18
Posts: 27
Website

Re: asv_amazon

It would be great if I could add in my amazon associates ID to the url. I don’t know if this is difficult to do or not…

Offline

#19 2005-10-06 19:52:34

jonhicks
Member
From: Oxfordshire UK
Registered: 2004-03-22
Posts: 256
Website

Re: asv_amazon

Kaline, you add your ID in the tag attributes! Check the help text…


Cheers,
Jon VC#9

Offline

#20 2005-10-06 20:03:13

kaline
Member
From: Plymouth, MN
Registered: 2005-07-18
Posts: 27
Website

Re: asv_amazon

Hmmmm…I’m not seeing it. The only thing I can see that resembles the associates ID is the subscription id which is for web services developers (I don’t think this is the same as an associates id – different format and different application for obtaining one – I have both.) I’m not seeing any mention of it in the help file, either, and I’ve read that a couple of times now. I’ve checked his site and don’t see any mention of it there, either.

Point me in the right direction, oh wise one.

I’m using version .5, btw.

Last edited by kaline (2005-10-06 20:04:26)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB