Textpattern Forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#51 2005-06-28 20:39:13

thebombsite
Plugin Author
From: Exmouth, England
Registered: 2004-08-24
Posts: 3,251
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

I don’t think that’s the answer to roelof’s problem doggiez. Once I received the update from Rob I updated all my downloads so roelof should have the latest version. I wondered if it were anything to do with him using messy URLs but reading through this thread I can’t see anyone else with a “messy URLs” problem. Where’s Rob when you need him? :)


Stuart – The BombsiteProText ThemesTextgarden

In a Time of Universal Deceit
Telling the Truth is Revolutionary.

Offline

#52 2005-07-14 01:32:35

cain-mi
Plugin Author
Registered: 2005-07-03
Posts: 108
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

I just installed it, but I’m having errorr.
For each result returned, I get the following error:

Notice: Undefined variable: uPosted in C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\htdocs\textpattern\publish.php on line 622

So if three result are returned, I get it three times. always the same error though.

I installed it without any farting around with it, so it should work.

I’m using the ~/section/title URL system.

Any ideas??

The following is the code causing the error in context (line 622):

613 function populateArticleData($rs)
614 {
615 extract($rs);
616 $com_count = safe_count(‘txp_discuss’,“parentid=$ID and visible=1”);
617
618 $author = (fetch(‘RealName’,‘txp_users’,‘name’,$AuthorID));
619 $author = (!$author) ? $AuthorID : $author;
620
621 $out[‘thisid’] = $ID;
622 $out[‘posted’] = $uPosted;
623 $out[‘if_comments’] = ($Annotate or $com_count) ? true : false;
624 $out[‘comments_invite’] = $AnnotateInvite;
625 $out[‘comments_count’] = $com_count;
626 $out[‘author’] = $author;
627 $out[‘authorid’] = $AuthorID;
628 $out[‘excerpt’] = $Excerpt_html;
629 $out[‘title’] = $Title;
630 $out[‘url_title’] = $url_title;
631 $out[‘category1’] = $Category1;
632 $out[‘category2’] = $Category2;
633 $out[‘section’] = $Section;
634 $out[‘keywords’] = $Keywords;
635 $out[‘article_image’] = $Image;

Cheers
cain-mi

Last edited by cain-mi (2013-10-10 05:44:23)

Offline

#53 2005-07-28 06:33:05

andreaparrish
Member
From: u.s.
Registered: 2005-05-12
Posts: 14
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

> cain-mi wrote:

>Notice: Undefined variable: uPosted in C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\htdocs\textpattern\publish.php on line 622

Are you on rc4? Because I’m getting that one too. It doesn’t happen when you change it to messy url though.

Offline

#54 2005-07-28 07:39:51

graumeister
Plugin Author
From: Ban Bang Por, Samui, Thailand
Registered: 2005-01-16
Posts: 167
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

hi,

a notice is no error. it say only, that the variable is nowhere defined yet. the functionality is not, aehm, affected. you can “somewhere” set the status of txp to “production” and the notices will disappear. this is like a feature of txp.

greetings


Samui? Samui! (about the life as farang in thailand)
David’s Neighbour

Offline

#55 2005-07-30 00:52:42

cain-mi
Plugin Author
Registered: 2005-07-03
Posts: 108
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

Thanks for that…helps a lot :)

Offline

#56 2005-08-15 04:47:22

wilshire
Plugin Author
From: Akron, Ohio
Registered: 2004-08-27
Posts: 656
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

Are you using version 0.2.2? That was a problem in the first version of the plugin but should work now.

Offline

#57 2005-08-22 14:10:39

gerhard
Plugin Author
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-06-29
Posts: 409
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

Rob, thanks for the plugin, nice one ; ).

I managed to “make it look” in fields such as custom_1, Category1 & Category2, but I couldn’t figure how to make it display those articles in Title, Body format. I could spend the whole day trying to figure it out, but you might come with a solution instantly and also have this approach implemented in a future version. I mean, looking into Category1 and Category2 (maybe even section) would be a very handy feature, mainly for ppl having tens of categories.

Nah, I was waffling before. I realized that it only returns parts of the body – where the “needle/s” are. So what I basically need is the search result outputting Category1, Category2 and custom_1 on top of Title & Body… Any suggestions?

Once again, excellent plug-in : ).

Last edited by gerhard (2005-08-22 14:38:55)

Offline

#58 2005-09-12 01:51:30

squaredeye
Member
From: Greenville, SC
Registered: 2005-07-31
Posts: 1,495
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

Three questions about this plugin:

1. Has anyone figured out how to make the “autocomplete” off function validate in xhtml strict? I saw that hicks had it working.

2. Is there a way to make this section specific? So that it will search only a certain section? For instance if I want a search in section a to search all of section a, and a search in section b to search of all section b. etc?

3. I noticed the return on the livesearch seems slow for me. If I only type in one letter for instance it hesitates, sometimes gives me info, sometimes not? Any ideas?

Thanks,

Matthew


Offline

#59 2005-09-12 09:43:43

gerhard
Plugin Author
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-06-29
Posts: 409
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] rss_live_search

Matthew,

1. Why don’t you go and ask the big guy? : )

2. Yep, it is doable. You just have to think how exactly you want to perform the search. For example, with these 2 addition you can have rss_live_search search ONLY the articles that are in the section one currently browses:

A. after <pre>if (gps(‘ls’) != “”) { function livesearch( $q, $max, $doExc, $notfound, $showdate, $form) {</pre> add <pre> $section = $GLOBALS[‘s’];</pre>

Don’t forget that you cannot assign articles to the default section (the home page) so you will need to add something like <pre> if ($section == “default”) $section = “article”;</pre> after the above line. This basically means that if you are on home page (default), the search will look @ all articles assigned to article section.

B. after <pre>$where = “(Title rlike ‘$q’ or Body rlike ‘$q’) $s_filter</pre>
add
<pre>and section=’$section’</pre>
and the code goes on…
<pre> and Status = 4 and Posted <=now() order by score desc limit $max”;</pre>

3. It hesitates because it has to search through A LOT of db records. Imagine that it has to look in ALL articles and then return ALL that match your query. If you have a big site and/or loaded server you can’t expect instant results.

Last edited by gerhard (2005-09-12 09:46:11)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB