Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2015-05-12 05:26:22

dorka

[REQUEST] Add file upload to contact form

Hi, I am not a developer so I am not sure if I am entitled to place my wish in this list, but it is the best place I found.
I need an extention to zem_contact_reborn enabeling (perhaps with the help of mem_form) sending attachment to a mail recipient via contact form.
I will be glad to commission this work to someone. Only I need help estimating the budget. Thanks.

#2 2015-05-12 14:35:06

Bloke
Developer
Website GitHub

Re: [REQUEST] Add file upload to contact form

dorka wrote #290663:

I need an extention to zem_contact_reborn enabeling (perhaps with the help of mem_form) sending attachment to a mail recipient via contact form.

The new in-development zem_contact_reborn ought to be able to handle this with a module (plug-in). It would probably offer:

• A tag for inserting a file input box (although you might be able to use <txp:zem_contact_text type="file" />, it’d be better to have a dedicated tag so it could check file size limits and permit only certain mime types, etc).
  • A mechanism for receiving the file, encoding it and adding the appropriate headers to the mail message, then returning the bundle to ZCR to do the mailing process.

The latter could either be done on submit, or using a jQuery uploader plugin which transmits the file via AJAX in the background like Gmail does. The submit handler is simpler, but less user friendly. The AJAX method is sexier, a lot more involved code-wise, and possibly with more potential to clutter your file system with part-finished uploaded files from bots using the contact form. Not really thought it through fully.

I could certainly try and knock up a module to see how well it works.

btw, although tempting, I’d shy away from permitting multi-file uploads. If people really want to send you many files, they can zip them up.