Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2014-05-09 19:38:47

sacripant
Plugin Author
Website

Code review for my first plugin.

Hello plugins creators,

I’m writing my first plugin for Textpattern.
It’s a grid display for textpattern image tab.
I now, It is expected that Textpattern 4.6 offers a new interface for the Image tab, but I had a more compact display for Textpattern 4.5.*

I am a beginner in php and in creating plugin. So if someone could have time to check my code before I publish.

Thank you

tom_image_grid

#2 2014-05-09 20:23:43

Bloke
Developer
Website GitHub

Re: Code review for my first plugin.

I’m not a Javascript expert so won’t comment on the actual code, but I will say that I really really really like the way it makes the image panel more usable.

When I started my image grid work back in 4.3.0 that never got finished, I opted for a similar sort of feel but used a select list for changing sort order and direction. That was messy and either required two drop downs (one for sort order, one for direction) or doubling up of sort parameters (id ascending, id descending, name ascending, …). Your approach of keeping the column headings is a much neater idea. Very clever because the sort order information is retained.

I also couldn’t decide how much detail to display in each cell, especially given the tag builder stuff, which took up too much space. I chose to offer a single link which popped up the builder with the first item (Textile) chosen in the tag builder popup. If you preferred HTML, for example, my plan was to remember that choice so when you next clicked the Tag Builder link, HTML would be pre-selected in the popup. That setting could carry over to any other places the drop down is utilised.