Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2013-12-28 14:37:01

Patrick

Re-uploading the files from the Textpattern official zip package

Hi.

I am totally new to textpattern, and this question may be obvious so please excuse me if it is.

I have a problem with our website – http://www.meditateinsheffield.org.uk/

I can’t get into textpattern either – http://www.meditateinsheffield.org.uk/textpattern/

We had this problem about a month ago and I contacted the hosting company and they reloaded an older version from backup. I updated this older version, then this problem came back. I emailed the hosting company today and they said –

“I’ve checked a few files on the account and they all seem to be infected with malicious code. As you’ve updated the site I’d recommend re-uploading the files from the Textpattern official zip package on their website.

If we restore from a backup it’s likely it’ll cause issues between the different versions and make things worse.”

I don’t know how to do this and I don’t want to do anything to damage the website. Could anyone explain clearly and simply how to do this and how to get our website so it is running and can be updated without any errors and it crashing.

Thanks!
Patrick

#2 2013-12-28 16:13:56

Gocom
Developer Emeritus
Website

Re: Re-uploading the files from the Textpattern official zip package

See Detailed upgrading instructions.

Looking at your site it at least appears that the files weren’t uploaded properly or are corrupted, as parts of the source files and their code is missing.

#3 2013-12-28 17:11:36

Patrick

Hi.

Thanks.

Do I upgrade the textpattern programme I already have to the latest version?

It says on that link -

“As with any system upgrade, you’ll want to be sure you can fall back on your existing install should there ever be a problem; thus, you should back up your server files and create a database dump file (.sql) before upgrading.”