Go to main content

Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2013-01-15 08:45:50

pin

etc_search and rss_unlimited_categories

hello everybody,
Two questions about etc_search because I’m not good with query syntax
1) what code I have to write in order to sort the etc_search results by sections?
2) In order to let it search also among the native categories of textpattern I wrote this code: <txp:etc_search query=”{Title,Body,category1,category2}” />
and it works. But now I’ve added new categories via rss_unlimited_categories plug in.
What code I have to write in order to search also among categories created with rss_unlimited_categories?

As an absolute beginner I wrote this:

<txp:etc_search query=”|||*SELECT category_id FROM textpattern_category |||{Title,Body,category1,category2}” />

and of course it doesn’t work! Any suggestion?
I Need an help, thank you in any case!

#2 2013-01-15 12:07:16

etc
Developer
Website GitHub

Re: etc_search and rss_unlimited_categories

Hi pin,

for advanced searches like this, you need to write a complete MySQL query. Try

<txp:etc_search query="{Title,Body,category1,category2}|||*SELECT txp.* FROM textpattern txp JOIN textpattern_category rss ON txp.ID=rss.article_id JOIN txp_category cat ON rss.category_id=cat.id WHERE cat.type='article' AND {cat.name,cat.title}" />

#3 2013-01-15 19:54:52

pin

thank you very very much Oleg! I did copy and past and seems to work correctly!!
I’ve tried to read the code you wrote but it’s like “mars” language for me, I’m not a developer.
Could you suggest me also some idea to sort the results? There’s a general query to do it? In particular I would like to sort the etc_results by “sections” but there’s nothing in the optional attributes for that.
I think your plug is absolutely great but very difficult for a non-professional like me!

#4 2013-01-15 21:17:35

etc
Developer
Website GitHub

pin wrote: