Textpattern Forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2011-06-04 05:41:52

wet
Developer
From: Lenzing, Austria
Registered: 2005-06-06
Posts: 3,099
Website

Feedback to: Help wanted: Test the release candidate for TXP 4.4.1

Please provide any feedback related to the Textpattern 4.4.1 Release Candidate in this thread.

Offline

#2 2011-06-04 08:25:32

Pat64
Plugin Author
From: France
Registered: 2005-12-12
Posts: 1,015
Website

Re: Feedback to: Help wanted: Test the release candidate for TXP 4.4.1

Thanks Robert !

(Not sure) Is there a change with grand_total : can’t get my results on search page…

Cheers,


Patrick.
Txp Tricks & Tips by french users : http://txp-fr.net | G+
@Devs : Can’t find the punched tape version of TXP and I need it!
Happy user of TXP 1.0RC1 on a Sinclair ZX spectrum server

Offline

#3 2011-06-04 16:17:51

michaelkpate
Moderator
From: Avon Park, FL
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 518
Website

Re: Feedback to: Help wanted: Test the release candidate for TXP 4.4.1

I installed it in the same place I always do. No problems thus far.

Offline

#4 2011-06-04 17:43:55

GugUser
Member
From: Quito (Ecuador)
Registered: 2007-12-16
Posts: 905

Re: Feedback to: Help wanted: Test the release candidate for TXP 4.4.1

Thanks Robert.

The only defect I notice is that lam_browse_by has stopped working. I suppose this has to do with the current jQuery.

Offline

#5 2011-06-04 18:19:13

GugUser
Member
From: Quito (Ecuador)
Registered: 2007-12-16
Posts: 905

Re: Feedback to: Help wanted: Test the release candidate for TXP 4.4.1

No, it has nothing to do with jQuery.

Offline

#6 2011-06-04 19:11:39

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 5,832
Website

Re: Feedback to: Help wanted: Test the release candidate for TXP 4.4.1

GugUser wrote:

lam_browse_by has stopped working

It stopped for me too but I think it’s probably a fault of either the core or jQuery being less-forgiving about unterminated string literals (that was the javascript error I had). I fixed it by changing the trim in the lam_browse_by_js function to doSlash. Not sure if that’s an official fix (it probably has other repercussions) but it might be a stop-gap until someone updates the plugin or writes a new one.

On that note, btw, the lam_browse_by_image_cat can be changed under 4.2.0+ by altering the following lines:

Line 2…

register_callback("lam_browse_by_image_cat", "image_ui", "extend_controls");

Last two lines of lam_browse_by_image_cat…

,'text-align:center','','get');
return $lam_browse_by_form.br;

That’s way more efficient, and faster, than adding it via jQuery. Shame the other tabs haven’t caught up yet in the core or we could do this for all of them. EDIT: though it does suffer from one drawback: if the category you select by has no images associated with it, the lam_browse_by dropdown doesn’t appear (because the core aborts at that point and the callback never fires).

Last edited by Bloke (2011-06-04 19:13:15)


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#7 2011-06-04 23:14:13

Els
Admin
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,383
Website

Re: Feedback to: Help wanted: Test the release candidate for TXP 4.4.1

Thanks, Robert. Two sites on the rc without problems.


<txp:Els /> ;)
Tag Reference | Unexpected behaviour? Check the tag trace | Still no clue? Check the names of your custom fields

Offline

#8 2011-06-05 01:30:04

GugUser
Member
From: Quito (Ecuador)
Registered: 2007-12-16
Posts: 905

Re: Feedback to: Help wanted: Test the release candidate for TXP 4.4.1

Bloke schrieb:

I fixed it by changing the trim in the lam_browse_by_js function to doSlash.

Yes, that helps. Thanks.

But: What is doSlash in jQuery? I searched on Google and found your code, but nothing about jQuery. And the search on the jQuery website shows no response.

Offline

#9 2011-06-05 06:30:59

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 5,832
Website

Re: Feedback to: Help wanted: Test the release candidate for TXP 4.4.1

GugUser wrote:

What is doSlash in jQuery?

It’s not jQuery — it’s a TXP internal function that adds a backslash in front of any quote characters so they don’t break things — used primarily when inserting stuff into the database, but it can also be used to make stuff on the page “safe” for display. As I say, it might not be the best way to achieve that but it seems to work.


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#10 2011-06-05 16:10:37

GugUser
Member
From: Quito (Ecuador)
Registered: 2007-12-16
Posts: 905

Re: Feedback to: Help wanted: Test the release candidate for TXP 4.4.1

Stef, thank you for the explanation.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB