Textpattern Forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#51 2011-10-11 00:44:37

gomedia
Plugin Author
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 840
Website

Re: adi_variables - Manage TXP variables

Hi Julián,

Looks like a very sensible thing to do, thanks. I’ll include it in the next update.

Adi

Offline

#52 2011-10-26 05:30:43

gomedia
Plugin Author
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 840
Website

Re: adi_variables - Manage TXP variables

Version 0.4, which incorprates maniqui’s lastmod mod, is available for download.

Offline

#53 2011-10-30 22:35:39

maniqui
Moderator
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Registered: 2004-10-10
Posts: 2,967
Website

Re: adi_variables - Manage TXP variables

Thanks, Adi.
Not sure if intentionally, but I’m letting you know that the plugin shows as v0.4beta (and the opening post of this thread still doesn’t mention this new version).


La música ideas portará y siempre continuará

TXP Builders – finely-crafted code, design and txp

Offline

#54 2011-10-30 23:08:39

gomedia
Plugin Author
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 840
Website

Re: adi_variables - Manage TXP variables

maniqui wrote:

… I’m letting you know that the plugin shows as v0.4beta (and the opening post of this thread still doesn’t mention this new version).

Oops, I’ve fixed that up. If you redownload the plugin, it should show up as 0.4 and I’ve edited the first post.

Offline

#55 2011-12-16 13:49:10

sacripant
Member
From: Dakar – Sénégal – Africa
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 343
Website

Re: adi_variables - Manage TXP variables

Hi Adi,

I installed “adi_variable 0.4”.
Is there a solution for make it work with cnk_versionning?
A request for Maniqui and johnstephens in 2009

Thanks

Offline

#56 2011-12-16 13:58:08

maniqui
Moderator
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Registered: 2004-10-10
Posts: 2,967
Website

Re: adi_variables - Manage TXP variables

Hi sacripant.

There is this modded version of cnk_versioning which works with adi_variables. In the plugin code, there is a hardcoded list of forms/pages/css to ignore (adi_variable is listed by default).

Adi, I was thinking this the other day: why not save the adi_variables on its own table (or maybe just in prefs table? because, it’s just one entry…). The only “backward compatibility” issue I see is that you may need to create a tag to include the vars, as txp:output_form probably won’t work, as the “form” holding the adi_variables, well, won’t be located in the “txp_form” table…


La música ideas portará y siempre continuará

TXP Builders – finely-crafted code, design and txp

Offline

#57 2011-12-28 21:10:15

gomedia
Plugin Author
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 840
Website

Re: adi_variables - Manage TXP variables

maniqui wrote:

Adi, I was thinking this the other day: why not save the adi_variables on its own table (or maybe just in prefs table? because, it’s just one entry…). The only “backward compatibility” issue I see is that you may need to create a tag to include the vars, as txp:output_form probably won’t work, as the “form” holding the adi_variables, well, won’t be located in the “txp_form” table…

Hi maniqui – thanks for helping sacripant out.

WRT an adi_variables database table – I’m not sure about that. On reflection, I quite like the way the variables are in “plain sight” – i.e. visible to eyeballs & smd_where_used. And I don’t think the prefs table is really the place to put them either.

Offline

#58 2012-01-05 13:56:16

MarcoK
Plugin Author
From: Como
Registered: 2006-10-17
Posts: 225
Website

Re: adi_variables - Manage TXP variables

Hi Aid.

A little question. Why must use a form? You can’t call a function that get all variable set public and insert them into an global $variable array?

Offline

#59 2012-10-16 00:09:00

gomedia
Plugin Author
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 840
Website

Re: adi_variables - Manage TXP variables

MarcoK wrote:

A little question. Why must use a form? You can’t call a function that get all variable set public and insert them into an global $variable array?

Hi Marco. Just stumbled across your query. Apologies for not addressing it sooner.

To answer your question, the variable values have to be stored somewhere. I chose to do it in a form, using txp:variable tags – for several reasons. Firstly it seemed like a good idea at the time, secondly it was visible (e.g. to smd_where_used), and thirdly it could be edited manually just like any other form. The other advantage is that by setting up the variables using standard txp:variable tags, I’m covered if the internal variable system changes.

The other option is to store the values in a separate database table, which has been requested before – and despite being stubborn, I haven’t totally discounted! Just want to concentrate on the 4.5 updates at the moment.

Offline

#60 2012-10-16 00:44:18

gomedia
Plugin Author
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 840
Website

Re: adi_variables - Manage TXP variables

Version 0.5 now available

  • TXP 4.5-ified
  • tooltips no more
  • Textpack
  • code tidy up
  • fix: update button now not shown for non privileged users when there’re no public variables
  • enhancement: variable rename for Admin users

As always, take a backup of your adi_variables form before upgrading.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB