Textpattern Forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#11 2007-02-26 22:20:16

zem
Developer emeritus
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-04-08
Posts: 2,579
Website

Re: EditArea usage in the admin section

Doesn’t work in the plugin tab because plugins can’t run there.

Wow, that’s a bummer, it’s most useful for tweaking plugin code. Is this written in stone somewhere that plugins can’t mess with this area?

Yes. Plugins are deliberately disabled on the plugins tab. Otherwise there’d be no way to disable a plugin gone haywire.


Alex
tstate

Offline

#12 2007-02-26 22:25:40

hakjoon
Moderator
From: Arlington, VA
Registered: 2004-07-29
Posts: 1,631
Website

Re: EditArea usage in the admin section

mrdale wrote:
Sure makes editing a 950 line css file more fun… which makes me wonder, is that a Massive CSS file?

Well the CSS for my site is at 510 lines and it’s pretty basic, so I’d say you are on the small side :)

Bert, Els, mrDale, anybody else:
Please post stuff you would like to be able to do/customize with this and I’ll work on a more polished version. The code right now is a little too quick and dirty for a real release.

Last edited by hakjoon (2007-02-26 22:28:24)


Shoving is the answer – pusher robot

Offline

#13 2007-02-26 22:41:52

hcgtv
Member
From: Charlotte, NC
Registered: 2005-11-29
Posts: 2,154
Website

Re: EditArea usage in the admin section

zem wrote:

Yes. Plugins are deliberately disabled on the plugins tab. Otherwise there’d be no way to disable a plugin gone haywire.

Could you toggle this off: Use admin-side plugins? – remove the offending plugin and then toggle it back on?


txp:tag – Textpattern Tags ~ TxPlanet – Textpattern Planet

Offline

#14 2007-02-26 23:08:34

mrdale
Moderator
From: Walla Walla
Registered: 2004-11-19
Posts: 2,059
Website

Re: EditArea usage in the admin section

>Hak
I’d like…

  1. the ability to specify exact initialization strings
  2. the ability to specify a path to the plugin (so I can install it once for a variety of domains)
  3. gzip compressor (if there is sucha thing)

Heck, just set it up like hak_tinyMCE, and we’ll all say hooray.

Last edited by mrdale (2007-02-26 23:10:23)

Offline

#15 2007-02-27 02:53:00

Mary
Sock Enthusiast
From: Canada
Registered: 2004-06-27
Posts: 6,235

Re: EditArea usage in the admin section

Could you toggle this off: Use admin-side plugins? – remove the offending plugin and then toggle it back on?

What if the plugin screws up your preferences page?


My email address has changed recently. If you need to contact me, use the forum contact form.

Offline

#16 2007-02-27 04:29:59

hcgtv
Member
From: Charlotte, NC
Registered: 2005-11-29
Posts: 2,154
Website

Re: EditArea usage in the admin section

Mary wrote:

What if the plugin screws up your preferences page?

phpMyAdmin -> txp_prefs -> admin_side_plugins = 0


txp:tag – Textpattern Tags ~ TxPlanet – Textpattern Planet

Offline

#17 2007-03-10 20:39:20

Els
Admin
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,388
Website

Re: EditArea usage in the admin section

hakjoon wrote:

Bert, Els, mrDale, anybody else:
Please post stuff you would like to be able to do/customize with this and I’ll work on a more polished version. The code right now is a little too quick and dirty for a real release.

I’m perfectly happy with the plugin as it is, thanks again! Though mrdale’s #2 would indeed be nice:

the ability to specify a path to the plugin (so I can install it once for a variety of domains)

Perhaps you should announce this elsewhere, e.g. the plugins forum, because I think not many people will find it here and I’m sure many would be interested.


<txp:Els /> ;)
Tag Reference | Unexpected behaviour? Check the tag trace | Still no clue? Check the names of your custom fields

Offline

#18 2007-03-10 21:17:40

mrdale
Moderator
From: Walla Walla
Registered: 2004-11-19
Posts: 2,059
Website

Re: EditArea usage in the admin section

Does anyone else have the following problem? I’m using mac FF.

When I make a selection, the line highlights, but if I select something on that line, the contrast between the line highlight and the actual ‘selected text’ is really negligable.

Essentially, I’m unable to see what I’ve selected other than the entire line…

Offline

#19 2007-03-10 21:36:27

Els
Admin
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2004-06-06
Posts: 7,388
Website

Re: EditArea usage in the admin section

In FF Windows it’s fine (screenshot)

Last edited by Els (2008-10-08 22:39:59)


<txp:Els /> ;)
Tag Reference | Unexpected behaviour? Check the tag trace | Still no clue? Check the names of your custom fields

Offline

#20 2007-03-10 22:24:49

mrdale
Moderator
From: Walla Walla
Registered: 2004-11-19
Posts: 2,059
Website

Re: EditArea usage in the admin section

hrm. works {kinda} OK on my macbook. perhaps it’s the dynamic range/calibaration of my LCD screen on my desktop that’s at fault.

Know what the css class is that controls the highlight? Having trouble finding it myslef. gotta be somewhere in the main css file.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB